If you have a job… You better be LinkedIn!

linkedin-job-hunt

I think my previous statement says it all. Most people recognize the LinkIn is the go-to social media platform when it comes to job prospects.

As a recent job hunter (infographic), I know a thing or two about being a part of the job market. Everyone is vying to make themselves stand out. Everyone seems to believe they are the mystical unicorn you’ve been searching for. Some people even get recruited based on their profiles on the site. I am not one of those people. But, here are some tips an tricks on how I could use my LinkedIn to get me there. 

LinkedIn is so much more then a social media platform. It is a warehouse, of sorts, for your professional activities. I don’t know about the rest of you out there in web world, but I have never been on top of updating my resume as much as I should. Seriously, is there anyone out there that updates their resume every 6 months? Isn’t that what we are told to do? Most of us update when the need arises, when your job hunting. Even LinkedIn is taking a note and making changes to it’s own resume. The once Ugly Ducking of the Social Media World is making changes to get people to stay on the site longer. It’s also enticing companies to drop more money on premium accounts. For most people, the most important part of LinkedIn is their profile.

Linkedin_infographic

What’s great about the LinkedIn profile is that you can include so much richer information than you usually can on a 1-2 page paper resume. Just, as in any resume it’s important to keep it up to date. It’s always important to come back to a site after a big update to the software. How to Optimize your Page and Profile discusses how to maximize the new LinkedIn look and feel to benefit you! What is the most important thing? A professional image on your profile. Even I need to update my picture. It’s several years old. Here are some other ways to turn your LinkedIn Profile into a Social Media Workhorse

8f679e1e-bb1f-4213-aa53-4b8e083c74bf

I offer one caviate to the LinkedIn lovefest. Make sure that you Protect Yourself on LinkedIn. It’s important to not forget that somethings still need to remain private. Keep you privacy settings up to date as well as your resume. You don’t want your boss to know you completely overhauled your profile. Do you?

Questions:

1. Do you have a LinkedIn account? If so, how often do you update your actual resume in comparison to your LinkedIn?

2. Can you for see in the future getting job leads or referrals off of your profiel? Have you in the past? What changes do you need to make to your profile to stand out from the crowd?

If you have a job… You better be LinkedIn!

12 thoughts on “If you have a job… You better be LinkedIn!

  1. Helena- I created my LinkedIn account about a year ago once I started my job search. I was a senior in college. Since I have started my job in June, I have had a few more responsibilities added to my list of daily tasks. With each of those additions, I have updated my resume and description of my job. I think it is important to keep your profile up-to-date. Especially if other professionals are going to be looking at your profile. I just acquired another major responsibility in my job, so I will be updating it soon!

    1. Now that I sit and think about it, I can’t remember when I created my account. I actually didn’t update my LinkedIn resume until recently, because for the longest time I wasn’t sure what my title was. 🙂 I did update my resume when I applied to UF. I see some more updating in my future after this class.

  2. Nice post!

    When I was job searching about two years after college, I did get one interview from my LinkedIn profile. The interview was for a position at one of the biggest banks in the country. That interview first opened my mind to LinkedIn and made me realize how useful it could be. I’ve had my current position for about a year a half. Since I’ve had my job I’ve been contact often by headhunters. I’ve never actually gone on an interview but it just goes to show the the popularity of LinkedIn. I think being on LinkedIn is just as important as having a resume, especially in our field.

    1. Way to go on getting headhunters attention! It’s always nice to be noticed! I definitely agree that being on LinkedIn in our field is a major thing. You need to show that you’re versatile on all social platforms. Not keeping your LinkedIn up to date looks rather sloppy.

  3. Helena,

    I update my resume and my LinkedIn when I get some new responsibilities, or when I learn a new program, for instance I learned how to use Microsoft Publisher so I added that. I have been contacted by head hunters and while I went on a couple of interviews, there was nothing that made me want to leave my current position. However, I have maintained a relationship with those people who sought me out in case something changes on my end. Having been let go due to cuts I like to keep myself ahead instead of waiting until the worst has happened. I do need to work on making my profile better. I definitely do not stand out, but I think of it as a work in progress, like everything else we have learned.

    1. I think the best thing about social media is that you can maintain relationships with people you have tenuous ties to. It’s great that you update when you get new skills! I always wonder about how to back up my skills section. “Why Helena, how do you know how to build a Gannt chart in excel” Response, “I googled it and watched a youtube video” (I’m awful at excel btw)

  4. Hey Helena,
    I do have a LinkedIn account, but haven’t utilized it in the way I should. I never really thought what was best to put on my profile, nor did I know how important of a tool it is for employers when they hire. I used to update my resume prior to LinkedIn, but nowadays I do them simultaneously.
    I think I can see a referral in the future from my LinkedIn profile. I know our major is highly involved in communications and it seems like companies who look for online savvy people will use the internet, to which I hope my profile will stand out. I have never received a job from LinkedIn, but have had random brands and businesses send me information. To stand apart from the crowd I added a solid headline, to which I didn’t have before. This simple change made my profile look more professional than it did prior to me changing it.

    1. That’s great! I think that getting a degree from UF will be a major selling point for you as well! I think a combo of education and practical application is the best thing an employeer can ask for. I already know that my confidence when it comes to social media has increased just because of this class! I can see good things in your future as well!

  5. MrDaveCone says:

    “Can you for see in the future getting job leads or referrals off of your profile?”

    I think we are seeing that trend now as LinkedIn is the THE place to go for career-minded people.

    What’s interesting to me is how LinkedIn and Facebook differ in terms of context. LinkedIn is business while Facebook is “fun.” So I wonder how much of what one says/shows on Facebook damages one’s LinkedIn reputation? Just a thought …

    Great post this week!

    1. Great thought. It’s the constant question of mixing business and pleasure. I have my linked in separate from my facebook and twitter for a reason. I don’t think people in my “professional” network need to see the inane things happing in my head all day. But, I do think that I should do a better job of posting the interesting articles that I find online in relation to work stuff on LinkedIn. Also, I should “connect” with more people. The more connections you have the stronger the network.

  6. Hi Helena! Oh, I don’t have a lot of experience here. I just created an account for class and maybe logged in a handful of times. However, I just quit my job this week so I’m on the hunt. Seeing all the ways to make Linkedin work for you, it’s time that I put some serious effort into my profile so that I can get noticed. I think I need to add a bit more about past experience, explain more on my profile than I do on my resume. I feel really comfortable with my 1-pg resume but this is a whole new platform!! I’m also planning to rewrite my summary and use more keywords. I haven’t gotten any referrals on Linkedin yet, but I’m hopeful.

  7. Wow Blythe! Good luck! Seriously! Now that in the Masters program, have you changed the type of job you’re looking for? I really can definitively say that when it comes to LinkedIn that less isn’t more… more is more. Detailed job descriptions and responsibilities are the way to go. I’m realizing now, some of the things I’ve been working on for work and school would be beneficial. Hello WordPress!

Leave a Reply

