Fuel for my Fire!

Five-Ps-of-Social-Networks-Social-Media-Influence1

Inspire-Connect-Achieve

These are three tenets to live by when beginning any foray into social media. It’s a personal mantra of mine to only post things on my facebook and timeline that I would be proud to support or for my grandma to see (I ❤ my Yia yia). I think the same can be said as a brand advocate for my company’s social media. Many people who have grown along with the evolution of facebook probably understand this as well.

Pam Moore give people 50 rules to get people engaged. Some of these rules are pretty self explanatory. The first 5 especially. 1. Inspire them. 2. Connect with them in an authentic, human way. 3. Entertain them. 4. Educate them. 5. Empower them.

My favorite from the list: 15. Make them feel emotion of any kind. Make them belly laugh or do the happy cry. (I’m going to try and achieve this from one of you this week!)

Helena’s Social Media Rules:

I realized a long time ago there are some things you say online, and some things you don’t. Here are some of the personal social media rules that I live by. I think its important to know what your social media personality is…

  • Keep it clean (Well I try anyway)
  • Keep people engaged. If I think it’s interesting, someone else might agree. If not, resort to cats, baby animals, or a meme (Grumpy Cat =’s trifecta)
  • Know what people like.
  • If you didn’t share it first, share it second. You have followers that they don’t; people still might want to see it, a re-share is a great ego booster.
  • Engage directly with people. Make sure you respond! People like it when other people pay attention. It’s good to reciprocate.

A lot of my rules are very similar to Guy Kawasaki Apple’s former chief evangelist’s 10 tips to build Social Media influence

Ten rules for JWA to live by:

Seriously, I’m taking them to my boss tomorrow. This is how JWA will apply the 10 tip according to me:

  1. Start Yesterday! (Yup. We’re already playing catch up)
  2. Find the right social network for you (LinkedIn, possibly Google+)
  3. Make a great profile (We need to invest in some stock photos)
  4. Curate and link (Know where content comes from)
  5. Cheat (The term is “leverage” 🙂 )
  6. Restrain yourself (Truth)
  7. Add bling (People like pretty things)
  8. Respond (but keep it simple)
  9. Stay positive or stay silent (Make sure you respond to the critics, but don’t be Amy’s Baking Company)
  10. Repeat good stuff (Even if it’s from a competitor)

QUESTIONS:

1. What are your personal social media rules? Do you have any? How has class changed your ideas about that?

2. What Rule from the 50 rules stuck out to you? Comment and tell me what was your favorite. Tweet me and see if you can achieve your goal! (See my goal above to achieve #15)

twitter

Fuel for my Fire!

2 thoughts on “Fuel for my Fire!

  1. Helena,

    I think it is important for everyone-both those with personal as well as professional accounts- to have some type of Social Media rules/etiquette tips to go by. Part of the reason why I was so against some Social Media platforms was because of some of the content I would see. I think a lot of people take for granted the power and true value of Social Networking Sites. Anyways, my rules are to NEVER engage in any Political or Religious commentary/debate on any Social Networking Sites. I have also tailored the kind of photos and posts I make on my personal account just from the things I have learned in this class. Social Networking sites have made us transparent and that can be a good or bad thing just depends on what you post.

    My favorite rules was to be human, empower, inspire and influence.

  2. You and I are very different people Tammy. I don’t hold back on my political and religious views. Although, I don’t shove them in your face either. I’m sure I drive my uber republican cousin crazy. But, I really don’t care honestly. 🙂 I also, post about my beliefs about God and articles that inspire me despite, my atheist friends. Guess what, both those people know me. They know I love god, my country and football. Hey, I’m a southern girl. But, just because I differ from people who are my friends on fb, doesn’t mean I have to hide those fact about myself. It just means that can choose if they listen to me. But, my fb account is personal.

    Its different when you are running a social media account for a company. Unless, that company is know for it’s political and religious views. You’re right there keep it pc then.

Leave a Reply

